Around 340 million workers face occupational accidents, and 160 million suffer work-related illnesses every year globally. Were you one of them? or facing an illness right now but thinking you can’t receive any assistance from your workplace? Wrong! In Florida, you can claim compensation from your employer after proving the eligibility. But what is the process, and how can you receive the benefits? Read below to get your question marks resolved.
What is Workers’ compensation 90-day rule and Its Importance
Everything seems to have a deadline, right? Similarly, In Florida, whenever an employee faces an injury or illness, he must claim the worker’s compensation in 30 days and 90 days for occupational exposure cases. This 30-day period starts from the day a worker is injured, gets ill, or gets to know about their illness, and in a few states, this period is expanded to 90 days, called the 90-day rule.
In any case, if you don’t claim the compensation within 90-day time period, it is possible that you won’t be able to get the compensation according to insurance. Timely reporting is critical in the workers’ compensation process. The rule has been created to prove the relatability of injury or illness with work.
Process and Exceptions
If you think your employer would know about your accident or illness from somewhere else, then its a total negligence. It is recommended to provide a notice of the accident to keep a piece of evidence with yourself at any unwanted refusal. You can inform and claim for conditions like:
- weekly payments while incapability of work
- workers’ compensation medical appointments during work hours
- medical and other expenses
- rehabilitation expenses
- permanent impairment
However, in cases where you don’t get symptoms of illness or injury in one go or on the exact day of the accident, the 30-day window starts from the day you realize your health issue. Moreover, it is possible that the worker is not mentally or physically capable of reporting the notice within this time window. For these types of situations, the window can be extended.
What if my Employer doesn’t Cooperate with me?
An employer should cooperate and report to the worker’s compensation insurance company within 7 days. But if your employer delays the work or doesn’t pay attention, it’s better to contact the insurance company yourself.
But honestly, dealing with insurance companies is not a child-play. A survey tells that around one-third of workers faced neutral or negative experiences while claiming compensation. Contacting a worker’s attorney is crucial to navigating through paperwork, negotiations, and witness gathering in claiming and getting your deserved compensation.
It’s time to take action without delaying anymore! Whether your claim is delayed or ignored in a construction site accident or lower back injury settlement amount workers’ compensation, Maus Law’s attorney won’t leave any stone unturned to back you. The attorney will guide you during the claim before insurance companies for workers’ compensation investigations and what they look for as a proof. Let us advocate your rights against all barriers – our win is your financial and emotional stability!