Fort Lauderdale Workers Compensation Attorney
Get The Compensation You Deserve from Your Florida Workplace Accident
Every year, close to 400 people in Florida were killed in jobsite work accidents. In addition to those killed on the job, more than 60,000 workers in Florida every year are injured on the job and had to pursue work accident compensation under Florida’s Workers Compensation Statutes. Victims of work accidents are entitled to work accident compensation for both medical care and wage benefits.
Florida’s work accident compensation laws have strict timelines which establish when and to whom an employee is required to report an on the job injury claim, how and when an injured employee can obtain medical treatment, when they are required to provide information to the employer or their insurance company, and many other rules which govern what medical or money benefits may be provided.
Protect Your Rights
Victims of work accidents are entitled to compensation for medical care and wage benefits.
Work accident compensation is an area of law which can be extremely confusing and frustrating. The attorneys at The Maus Law Firm have been fighting for work accident compensation for their clients since 1993.
Our Fort Lauderdale workers compensation attorneys have helped thousands of injured workers obtain the medical treatment and money benefits they deserve. This includes obtaining a settlement once the injured worker has received all the other benefits they are entitled to.
What Benefits Can You Receive if You are Hurt on the Job in Florida?
Medical care and rehabilitation, and wage benefits are some of the benefits typically awarded in workers comp claims. Compensation is often two-thirds of the employee’s average weekly wage, subject to a maximum amount.
Compensation Available as Part of Florida’s Workers Comp
You can receive medical care and rehabilitation, and wage benefits.
- Permanent Partial Disability:Compensation is payable for the permanent loss or loss of use of certain parts or functions of the body, such as the loss of the arm, hand, fingers, leg, foot, toes, hearing or vision.
- Temporary Partial and Permanent Partial Disability:Compensation is two-thirds of the employee’s weekly wage loss or loss of wage-earning capacity.
- Permanent Partial Disability for Retirees:If a worker suffers the onset of a latent occupational disease after retirement, compensation is two-thirds of the National Average Weekly Wage (NAWW) multiplied by the percentage of impairment resulting from the disease.
- Death benefits:Paid to a widow, children or parents, brothers, sisters, grandparents and grand-children who were dependent on the employee.
What To Do If You Are Injured on the Job
Take immediate action if you are injured.
- NOTIFY your employer immediately. If you need medical treatment, ask your employer for a Form LS-1, which authorizes treatment by a doctor of your choice.
- OBTAIN medical treatment as soon as possible.
- GIVE written notice of your injury within 30 days to your employer on Form LS-201. Notice of death must also be given within 30 days.
- FILE a written claim for compensation within one year after the date of injury or last payment of compensation, whichever is later. A claim for survivor benefits must be filed within one year after the date of death. The time for filing claims in certain occupational disease cases has been extended to two years.
- CALL OUR OFFICE FOR A FREE, NO OBLIGATION CONSULTATION.
Contact a Fort Lauderdale Workers Compensation Attorney
Call us for a phone consultation about the specifics of your case. We’re available Monday thru Friday at (954) 784-6310 or toll-free at (855) 999-5297.