Fort Lauderdale Car Crash Lawyers for Florida Residents Hit By Out-of-State Drivers
If you are a Florida resident and you were hit by someone from out of state, it is important to understand how this impacts your situation. While it might seem that being hit by an out-of-state driver would complicate your situation, the reality is that you have access to more insurance coverage than you would if another Florida driver had hit you. Without consulting with a South Florida car accident lawyer, you may miss out on substantially more compensation.
In the vast majority of states around the country, the law requires drivers to carry bodily injury liability (BIL) insurance coverage. This insurance provides coverage for other drivers’ and passengers’ injuries when an insured driver causes an accident. However, Florida’s “no-fault” insurance law does not require drivers to carry BIL coverage, and the statistics show that Florida has one the highest rate of uninsured drivers in the nation.
If You Were Hit By an Out-of-State Driver in Florida, You May Have Access to Additional Insurance Coverage
Since Florida law does not require BIL insurance, even most insured drivers do not have this coverage. As a result, in most cases, when you are injured in a car accident involving another Florida resident, recovering your losses means filing a claim under your insurance policy (either your personal injury protection (PIP) policy, your uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) policy, or both). However, if you were hit by an out-of-state driver in Florida, there may be a greater chance that BIL coverage is available.
For example, the following are the minimum BIL insurance coverage requirements in the states that surround Florida:
- Alabama – $25,000/person and $50,000/accident
- Georgia – $25,000/person and $50,000/accident
- Louisiana – $15,000/person and $30,000/accident
- Mississippi – $25,000/person and $50,000/accident
- North Carolina – $30,000/person and $60,000/accident
- South Carolina – $25,000/person and $50,000/accident
- Tennessee – $25,000/person and $50,000/accident
- Texas – $30,000/person and $60,000/accident
So, if a driver from one of these states (or any of the other states that require BIL insurance coverage) hit you, you may have access to significantly more insurance coverage than you would if you had been hit by a Florida resident who had not voluntarily chosen to purchase BIL coverage.
Our Fort Lauderdale Car Crash Lawyer Can Help with Your Out-of-State Insurance Claim
Of course, the fact that insurance coverage may be available does not necessarily mean that recovering your losses is going to be easy. The out-of-state driver’s insurance company will almost certainly dispute your claim for coverage, and you will need to have evidence to prove both (i) how the other driver was at fault and (ii) how much you are entitled to recover. Fort Lauderdale car crash lawyer Joseph Maus can help, and you can contact the Maus Law Firm 24/7 for a free consultation.
Request a Free Consultation with Fort Lauderdale Car Crash Lawyer Joseph Maus
Were you injured in a car accident involving an out-of-state driver? To discuss your insurance claim with attorney Joseph Maus in confidence, call 855-999-5297 or request a free consultation online now.