Ft. Lauderdale DUI Lawyer
It’s not difficult to determine the most likely cause of automobile fatalities and driving while under the influence of drugs and alcohol is alway or near the top of the list in Florida. If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida you lose your driver’s license. When you get it back you’ll now be required to install a device on your car that will not only prevent you from operating your vehicle if you’ve had something to drink, but also report the attempts that you’ve made to start your car to the local authorities.
In an effort to deter drunk driving, the state of Florida now requires the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) as a penalty for being convicted of driving under the influence in certain instances. If you are a first time or more convicted drunk driver and have a BAC or .15 or higher, you will be required to install an interlocking device on your vehicle. This provision replaced the previous penalty of having your motor vehicle impounded for 10 days.
An IID is like a breathalyzer in that the driver must blow into it providing a breath sample. If the resulting breath analysis is above a pre-set level the car will not start. The pre-set level is normally much lower than the typical legal limit and is usually set at .02 BAC. Simple as that. Moreover, a log is kept and the data as to how often the IID test failed is analyzed by the court and probation personnel assigned to you case.
A person convicted of driving under the influence is also required to pay for the cost of the IID installation and the service of the device as follows: $70 for installation, $67.50 for monthly monitoring and calibration,$100 refundable deposit.
Now more than ever you’ll need the counsel of an experienced and knowledgeable Ft. Lauderdale DUI lawyer to fight the DUI charges leveled against you. The lawyers at The Maus Law Firm have represented those accused of DUI to successfully have charges reduced or dropped entirely. Call us today!